Published On: Wed, Feb 7th, 2018

Horseshoes & Hand Grenades to release new album The Ode

Acclaimed bluegrass/Americana quintet HORSESHOES & HAND GRENADES is set to release their new album The Ode February 16 via Tape Time Records.

Horseshoes & Hand Grenades to release new album The Ode

The Ode will be the debut offering from the new label, which was founded by their friends in the Infamous Stringdusters. The two like-minded bands return to the road together this Wednesday (2/7) in Louisville, KY (full itinerary below). The album’s second single, “Steer True,” is out now; the album’s title track was released in September.

The Ode is quintessential HORSESHOES & HAND GRENADES music from the Wisconsin group: David C. Lynch (harmonica, accordion, spoons, vocals), Collin Mettelka (fiddle, mandolin, vocals), Russell Pedersen (banjo, fiddle, vocals), Adam Greuel (guitar, dobro, vocals) and Samual Odin (bass). Equal parts good-time bluegrass and country lament, the record-their fourth full-length–captures the band at their studio best.

After seven years, three albums, innumerable sold out shows, and countless beers, bluegrass mavericks HORSESHOES & HAND GRENADES appropriately consider themselves a “family” on a wild, wonderful, and often whacky roller coaster. The bond between the five gentlemen fuels their creativity and chemistry on stage and in the studio.

Produced by Trampled By Turtles frontman Dave Simonett, the album-recorded at Pachyderm Studio in Minnesota, where Nirvana recorded In Utero–marks a point of growth for HORSESHOES & HAND GRENADES. The band’s Adam Gruel says, “We’ve got the bluegrass burner type tunes we’re known for on there, but we’re experimenting with other elements.

Little pieces of everybody are encapsulated in this record. For the first time, we were really conscious of allowing our respective musical curiosities into the fold. Sam drops in a jazz and classical feel. Dave brings that Zydeco, Cajun, and old school blues vibe. Collin turns up with this kinda pop folk energy, and Russell gives us the old-timey banjo feel.

For me, I’m trying to play out my singer-songwriter curiosities. There are five songwriters in the band, and we’ve gotten better at harnessing our individual creativity and bringing it to the collective.”

The Ode track list:
1) The Ode
2) Next River Bend
3) Steer True
4) Stay Awhile
5) AD/BC
6) Home Again
7) Foggy Halo
8) American Dream
9) River Time
10) Millennial Girl
11) Eat The Cake



Read previous post:
Half Price Country Music sale

This January you can save a huge 50% on your favourite Country magazine. Subscribe to Country Music Magazine today and...